John Shotter: a belated thank you

jsIt has been several months since the death of John Shotter and I thought I would reflect on his impact on me and implications for those of us in education. I’m not going to describe John’s achievements, I’ll leave that to his friend Michael Billig – click here. And I’m certainly not going to summarise his work and its impact on practice – that will have to speak for itself, at this point I can hear John reaching for Wittgenstein (probably On Certainty, p210, para 139-140).

I first met John in 2008 mid way through my doctorate. We met via a mutual friend, Patricia Shaw, in the Bunch of Grapes pub near London Bridge station. I remember being enthusiastic about my line of research on knowledge. John listened and seem to absorb and reflect my enthusiasm. Thereafter our paths crossed every few months. I last met John with his wife at his home in Cambridgeshire with some good friends sharing readings, writings and understandings of our various interests and projects.

But what was it about John that I came to value? Many people would point to his encyclopaedic knowledge of the likes of Wittgenstein and Bakhtin and his ability to pull a quote from thin air. In addition to his focused understanding on these writers and more it was also his knowledge of a wider terrain of culture and that seem to connect people together in a shared experience and understanding. And of course, there was his enthusiasm for learning and knowledge tinged with sadness of our entrenched views and the political games we play in academia.

For me there was something more important that I try to take forward in my own developing practice as an academic. He would get to a nub of something that I was struggling with, drawing a few threads together that I had not noticed. And from this (and with a pile of reading) the world become a little clearer, or usefully unclear, and a small step would have been made. His impact at the time was subtle but when I look back the effect was substantial and deep. In short, he had the knack of pointing me to new avenues at just the right time: Gilbert Ryle, Raymond Williams, Henri Bortoft to name a few.

I came to wish that I had recognised his contribution in the acknowledgements of my thesis and in some respects this posting makes up for my omission.

And here are the paragraphs I mentioned:

  1. Not only rules, but also examples are needed for establishing a practice. Our rules leave loop-holes open, and the practice has to speak for itself.
  2. We do not learn the practice of making empirical judgements by learning rules: we are taught judgements and their connexion with other judgements. The totality of judgements is made plausible to us.

Wittgenstein, L. (1969), On Certainty, (Anscombe, G. and von Wright, G.,Eds.), Harper Torchbooks, New York.

2 thoughts on “John Shotter: a belated thank you

  1. Rob, I’m so glad you published a post about John. As I read it I started asking myself what John’s influence has been on me. For example, I often think of how generous he was with time and knowledge. I could ring him up at any time and he would listen and then talk (or is ‘channel’ a better word?). He had a unique way of responding to any subject I brought up — never in a straight line and yet it influenced me in subtle and important ways. One thought that crosses my mind every time I think of him is how fervently he wanted ‘this thinking’ (he would never have said ‘my thinking’) to spread. He wanted the world to ‘get it’, to understand the importance of ‘the dialogical’. I recently bought his last book “Speaking Actually” for my kindle and am looking forward to study it soon. (www.amazon.co.uk/Speaking-Actually-Common-Sense-Understanding-Relational-ebook/dp/B01M6BNCPA/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1500021596&sr=1-1&keywords=speaking+actually)

Leave a Reply

